Notice Board
History I
History II
To Pics 2012-16
Link To Shropshire Chess Website
Telepost Chess Club - Picture Gallery 1980-2011

Chess in a Coffeehouse

It went very well last night (31/05/2011) with 10 members present, and three coffee house staff taking part along with two customers enjoying a game.All agreed it had been a pleasant environment and we would be welcome back.
John Casewell


Left - Telepost B
Division Two Champions 2009-10
Vinny Crean, Phil Zabrocki, Bob Simpson, Steve Kempsell, John Westhead, and captain Peter Crean (seated).

Right - Telepost A Division One Champions 2009-10
David Bates, Nigel Ferrington, John Bashall, Keith Tabner, and captain Richard Bryant (seated)

Left - Richard Bryant v David Bates in the 2009 club championship.

Right - Charles Micallef ponders his next move.

Below left - Nigel Ferrington clinches the 2009 County Individual Championship v Simon Hughes.

Below right - Adrian Bowyer in action against Keith Tabner

Above - Charles Micallef v Brian Holdford Above - John Casewell plays Shane Sweeney
Telepost A League & Cup Double Winners 2008
Standing - Richard Bryant (captain), Jamie Hopkins
Seated - Keith Tabner, David Bates, Nigel Ferrington.
Telepost B - Div 2 Champions 2008
Peter Crean (captain), John Bashall, Gordon Thomas,John Westhead, and Vinnie Crean (seated)

Telepost Win Winter Cup 2006-07

Non-playing Captain Peter Crean fielded a strong Telepost B team against Church Stretton A in the inaugural winter knockout final played at Shrewsbury on Friday 24/04/07.The result was:
N Ferrington 0.5 T Brotherton 0.5
J Hopkins 1 Nick Graham 0
R Bryant 1 G Link 0
J Bashall 0.5 G Shepherd 0.5
J Westhead 1 A Silver 0

Telepost B 4 - 1 Church Stretton A
Telepost C - Div 2 Champions 2006
Steve Jones (captain), John Liddell, John Westhead, Keith Tabner, Brian Holdford.
At the 2006 AGM Roy and Sue Allen present the new Neil Allen Trophy for Div 3 to winners Market Drayton captain Ray Thomas. This follows the sad death of Neil shortly after captaining the A team to the 2005 league title.
The Telepost A Team after winning the Shropshire Division 1 Championship in 1999-2000. Nigel Ferrington, Neil Allen, Dave Bryan, John Bashall, and Keith Tabner.
Steve Jones (right) personally presents the new Steven JonesTrophy for the Club Individual Championship to Keith Tabner (Sept.2000)
Gary Owen moved to the Wrexham area in 2002.
We wish him well.
Vincent Crean and John Bashall planning their next moves.
Keith Tabner, John Westhead, and John Casewell at the 2002 Shropshire League AGM
(picture courtesy of Colin Roberts)
Glyn Pugh (Coddon) presents Telepost A captain Dave Bryan with the Cox Trophy for the 2003 summer cup, watched by teammates Keith Tabner, Nigel Ferrington, Steve Rawlins, and Richard Bryant.
Peter Crean at the board (2000)
Neil Allen has the black pieces against Gary Owen (2000)
An early 1980's picture of James Clarke and Paul Mukherjee with Indian grandmasters Ravikumar, D.Barua, and a WGM.